The Story Prism

19 04 2007

I’ve got a great idea for some sort of fun shin dig we can get goin on my blog. Since the majority of the readers call themselves writers I’ve decided to bring an old idea I have had since the Scythe’s Edge was still running, except with a new twist. I was going to set a theme for myself and then write short stories based on said theme, and the fun is I would write completely different versions using things such as different characters, perspectives, viewpoints, time tenses, ect. And today I had the great idea of asking any of my readers interested to join the fun by sending in any and all no matter how many short stories based on the theme chosen, and obviously everyone will have a different sort of story. I will put a page up with all the information such as (obviously) how to get the story to me, stating you WILL be credited for your contribution (i will NEVER pass it off as my own, plus I will have my own stories with it anyway), ect. Leave your comment as support and I will indeed do this. I think it will be a very kick ass thing for many reasons including the simplest one of all, to tell a good story. You can compare all the different morals, perspectives, styles, and all that jazz and that will help my philosopher side to boot! So how about it? And I want you to know, the story can be a simple paragraph if you are not a serious writer! This is going to be a very everyone can join in the fun activity and I hope it grows with time to include many people, and i promise I will put EVERY entry (except intentionally retarded ones) up, no matter how big or small, good or great (no bad stories in my book). I will also do things like post your email if you’d like readers to critique your work. Anyways, your thoughts?

 

(no this does not apply to my current issues class but im using it as my free write anyways)

Actions

Information

11 responses

19 04 2007
writerchick

I think I’m missing some data here. What is the theme? Sorry, if I am too dumb to see it.
WC

19 04 2007
decayedsoul

not up yet, it hasnt begun lol. im thinking of like one theme a month or something. whenever i get enough hoorays for this im going to post the information page, then im going to post down my original theme when i got this idea and four stories, and thats gonna also be the first theme everyone begins on.

19 04 2007
thedesktop

Sounds delicious. I started to do something like this a month ago, but then I put it off because of an extreme case of writers block.

No, it was really extreme. I was hospitalized.

19 04 2007
dragonsvamp

hmm good idea- whats the theme?

19 04 2007
decayedsoul

hmm yeah….no spoilers! im not even sure if it will begin this month, i need more people and time to finish my example stories

19 04 2007
dragonsvamp

you dont need more people…

19 04 2007
decayedsoul

well they have to officially reply here, or else there no point i mean I can write stories but that defeats the purpose of this. even though i can do so many stories like this its still coming from me and thus will always stem from the same trunk, and some things you cant get except by being someone else.

19 04 2007
dragonsvamp

ok well im willing to partake… you dont need to have that many in the beginning. it’ll grow as you go about it and people see how its going.

19 04 2007
thedesktop

well, I didn’t explicitly say this before, but “I’m in.”

22 04 2007
mikail

vamps right, you dont need many ppl in the beginning, and you and her are good enough writers to make up for the lack anyway…love to see how it goes!

24 04 2007
Andrew

I like the idea! But I’m rather bogged down at the moment. I’ll probably contribute now and then.

Leave a Reply

